“Thoughts are things, and powerful things at that, when they are mixed with the definiteness of purpose, persistence, and a burning desire for their translation into riches, or other material objects”. Napoleon Hill – Think and Grow Rich.

The power of our thoughts. This is a topic I could write oodles about, but I’ll refrain to keeping my post to the confines of relaying the key messages from the first chapter of Think and Grow Rich rather than imparting all my own views.

In this blog post, and the following posts over the next week or so, I’ll be relaying the key quotes and ideas that have struck me as the key points made in each chapter of Think and Grow Rich.

The first chapter and introduction of the book alludes to a ‘secret’ which will become apparent to anyone who is ready to hear it and could appear at any time while reading and mastering the 13 principles of this philosophy. Impossible you think?

“One of the main weaknesses of mankind is the average person’s familiarity with the word “impossible.” He knows all the rules which will NOT work. He knows all the things which CANNOT be done. This book was written for those who seek the rules which have made others successful, and are willing to stake everything on those rules”.

“Success comes to those who become Success Conscious”.

The object of this book is to help all those who are open minded enough to follow the principles and who are looking to change their life to learn the art of changing their minds from “Failure Consciousness” to “Success Consciousness”.

We are the “Masters of our Fate, the Captains of our Souls” because we have the power to control our own thoughts.

“The ether in which this little earth floats, in which we move and have our being, is a form of energy moving at an inconceivably high rate of vibration, and that ether is filled with a form of universal power which adapts itself to the nature of thoughts we hold in our mind; and influences us, in natural ways, to transmute our thoughts into their physical equivalent.”

“This power makes no attempt to discriminate between destructive thoughts and constructive thoughts, that it will urge us to translate into physical reality thoughts of poverty, just as quickly as it will influence us to act upon thoughts of riches.”

Our brains become magnetised with the dominating thoughts in our minds and while we don’t know exactly how, these forces attract to us circumstances which harmonise with our dominating thoughts. I think, therefore I am?

If we want to be successful, rich or attain some material thing that we want then we must “magnetise” our minds with intense desire for it. In order to be rich we need to be “money conscious” because this will drive our minds to come up with the plans to acquire these riches.

Wishing for wealth is not enough. Being ashamed for thinking about wanting more money will leave you with nothing other than ‘shame’ and an unhealthy relationship with money.

Knowing your exact reasons for wanting to acquire whatever it is that you want in life, your “definiteness of purpose”, coupled with persistence (because no one who ‘gave up’ ever got what they truly wanted to get), a “burning desire” for acquiring or attaining what you want (how badly do you really want it?) and repetitive positive thoughts (not fluffy thoughts but “I WILL have this” type thoughts designed to fool your subconscious mind into believing that you will) will manifest powerfully in your life to the point where you WILL notice a difference.

This is the ‘difference’ that I felt and still feel which I posted about in my ‘Something Has Changed’ post. Perhaps I am now operating on a different rate of vibration, perhaps my energy has changed and that may have something to do with how things will manifest and play out in my life from hereon in providing I can keep thinking this way (and other reasons which I’ll cover off in future posts).

I have always been a big believer that there is no such thing as coincidence. I’ve long believed that coincidences occur because you are ‘putting out’ something to the universe through your thoughts, dreams and desires and the universe is responding. You pick up on those responses as ‘signs’ that your messages are being received and are there to guide you. I believe you should always act on these signs.

Coincidences and signs happen all the time to me, it happened to me today. I was thinking about the power of thought and recalling when I had a personal ‘a-ha’ moment about it. It was when I was in Peru a few years ago and reading a book about how a scientist in Japan had proven that thoughts could alter the structure of ice crystals and he had incredible photographic evidence. Today I had thought to myself “I wish I could remember his name” and I committed to googling him when I got home tonight. After dinner while going through the days Facebook news feed I came across an article a friend had shared about how microwaved water had killed a plant in a high school students experiment. This piqued my interest and I read on, she later commented that she was also reading about Dr. Masaru Emoto! That’s my guy! So how often does this guy come up in conversation on Facebook in a timeframe that I’m going to see it? Why did I go into that post when I glossed over so many others? Coincidence? I think not! The power of thought? I am a believer – yes.

I’ll leave you with that thought.

What are your thoughts on the power of thought?

Leave a Reply

