TODAY’s challenge: Write a post on why you started your blog, who you wanted to reach, what you wanted it to be all about. Then state why you joined this blog challenge and what you want to get out of it.

I started this blog to hold myself publicly accountable for reaching my goals to start my own business. I’ve had many ideas for businesses for many years. Often I’ve really struggled with the question “what am I most passionate about?” because a lot of advice out there is to go into business in an area you’re truly passionate about because then it won’t feel like work and you’ll have greater chance in succeeding when times are tough.

The problem is I’m a multi-passionate person.

I do know that I want to be doing something creative. I have a Degree in Visual Communication Design and have a love for good design. I’m pedantic about formatting, I like to surround myself with aesthetically pleasing things, I love colour.

I do know that I want to work closely with people too. I don’t want to be working solo, I want to collaborate and I want to work closely with my customers, to involve them in a creative process.

So I started this blog to commit myself to this journey, publicly, knowing that it will compel me to persevere on the tough days. I want it to be like a diary. I want to share my thoughts openly and share the things I’m learning as I go. I want to share the highs and the lows. I want to connect with people who reading it will think “I feel like that too sometimes” and know that they’re not alone, that we all have hopes and fears to realise and overcome.

Who do I want to reach? Anyone who’s prepared to listen! I guess ultimately I’d like to reach my ideal customers; women, who like me want freedom and flexibility in their lifestyle and to work in something that they love doing. I want to reach people who have a gift to share but are afraid to share it or don’t know where to start. People who need guidance and support but who are willing to put in the graft, they just need to know that they’re on the right track and need they help getting to their destination.

What do I want it to be about? A personal diary or journey about starting a business – from scratch. Being quite a spiritual and philosophical person there may also be epiphanies in areas concerning intuition, signs, soul purpose and things like that, because I’m open to that. I don’t expect all my readers will be, but I’ll be sharing my thoughts and experiences anyway!

I joined this challenge because the exercises complement the other programmes and exercises I’m doing as part of my 6 month plan. I’m doing it to get into the habit and flow of writing daily. I’m doing to prove I can form a positive habit (it’s the first of many others I have in mind!) as often in the past I’ve not given a new habit long enough to become – a habit. I’m doing it to support my sister as it’s her initiative and I think it’s a great idea.

Bring it ON!

Leave a Reply

