What’s your definition of freedom in business and adventure in life?

Five years ago I met the man of my dreams and as he entered my life so did his three gorgeous kids. None of this was part of any grand plan I had for myself, sometimes the best things in life come in packages (a really wonderful little bundle in this case). That’s not to say it hasn’t been a tough road. It takes quite some doing mentally and emotionally adjusting literally ‘overnight’ (well it felt that way) from being a single, independent professional woman with an active social life and loads of exciting interests to sharing the man of your dreams with these other little people who love and want to be the centre of his universe too. It’s been an amazing journey and these amazing souls have and still are teaching me an awful lot about myself. For one, my capacity for giving unconditional love.

Needless to say, my idea of ‘freedom’ has changed a lot in the last 5 years.

Before meeting my husband, my idea of freedom in business and adventure in life was being able to quit my contract and up and go wherever I wanted, when I wanted for as long as my money would allow me to. I spent 8 years abroad with London as a base doing exactly that and they were incredible years.

Freedom for me nowadays is a bit different. We have commitments and responsibilities that keep us bound not only to a country but also a city (for the time being) yet that hasn’t dampened the freedom in business and adventure in life that I’ve experienced. At the end of 2010 I quit my job, with no job to go to and bought a ticket to South America where I travelled for 3 months. Within a week of having quit I was approached by a company (where I now work) who had heard about me through a friend, I was interviewed and was offered a role AND they were happy to hold the role for me until I got back. How amazing is that?! I took a risk and the universe paid me in dividends for it. I couldn’t have imagined a better outcome for myself if I’d tried. Not only was my financial security sorted but my husband (partner at the time) also placed all his trust in me and set aside his own fears and concerns for my safety, for our relationship and he waited for me too. He gave me the freedom to go and do what I felt drawn to do. This was my last solo adventure. My itch I had to scratch. It was an incredible trip and a whole other blog post (or several).

Skip to today, what does freedom in business and adventure in life mean to me now? Now it means walking away from the financial security of a full time job and throwing myself into the adventure that is starting and running my own business. It’s another huge risk. It’s one that I have faith will pay off… just like last time but way bigger and better!

Fast forward again to this time next year? Freedom in my business will be having the time in my day to spend on my business, not just time in it. Having more quality time with my family, after school not just from dinner time. To exercise more regularly. To be able to do more artistic and creative projects such as painting. To meditate everyday. To be able to travel abroad every year. To walk all of the great NZ walks. To be able to have more breaks from work than I can now but also to not feel like I want to take a break. Freedom in business to me is not wanting to be free from it at all, but to love each and every minute of it because of how excited and alive it makes me feel.

I’m sure you have different ideas, I’d love to hear yours 🙂

Leave a Reply

