It’s been a couple of days since I wrote. I worked out of town with my job and had family to visit so was offline for a bit – but I’m back now! The 30 Day Blog Challenge continues to have technical difficulties, however, undeterred I still have a topic close to my heart at the moment to share with you, that is the principle of DESIRE.

As I mentioned in previous posts, I’ve been reading ‘Think and Grow Rich’ by Napoleon Hill and have now finished it and am returning to random chapters again. I plan to re-read this book for the next few months and always revisit it as I’d like to put the theory to the test by following all the principles as best I can and see what comes of it.

The second chapter is about DESIRE. Without a burning desire to keep you focussed and driven and also without the belief that you can achieve your desires then you may as well quit before you start. This is something some people find hard to pin down – knowing exactly what it is they want. I know I have for many years tried to analyse what my burning desire is and perhaps I have over-analysed the topic in the past. 

Ultimately I believe that my burning desire is to have a life of abundance in riches and in love.

From this abundance in riches and love I figure the other things that I desire such as a flexible lifestyle, the ability to travel, to make an impact in peoples lives, to run my own business/es, deepen my spirituality etc will also come as part of the package of the abundance of riches and love.

What do you desire so strongly?

What would drive you to persevere through tough times? Cause you to have utter and unshaken faith in yourself? Urge you to improve your skills and self confidence in order to attain it? What would drive you out of your comfort zone over and over again? What can you not bear never having in your life? What would be your one big regret in old age if you hadn’t done/achieved/tried it? Is it enough to be your burning desire?

I’ll leave you with all the key quotes from the chapter on Desire that resonated with me in the hope that they may stir your soul too and ask yourself that question:

What do I really WANT?

A great warrior faced a situation which made it necessary for him to make a decisions which insured his success on the battlefield. He was about to send his armies against a powerful foe, whose men outnumbered his own. He loaded his soldiers into boats, sailed to the enemy’s country, unloaded soldiers and equipment, then gave the order to burn the ships that had carried them. Addressing his men before the first battle, he said, “you see the boats going up in smoke. That means we cannot leave these shores alive unless we win. We now have no choice- we win- or we perish.

They won.

Every great leader, from the dawn of civilization down to the present, was a dreamer.

Tolerance and an open mind are practical necessities of the dreamer of today. Those who are afraid of new ideas are doomed before they start.

If the thing you wish to do is right, and you believe in it, go ahead and do it.

A burning desire to be, and to do is the starting point from which the dreamer must take off. Dreams are not born of indifference, laziness, or lack of ambition.

There is a difference between wishing for a thing and being ready to receive it. No one is ready for a thing, until he believes he can acquire it. The state of mind must be belief, not mere hope or wish. Open-mindedness is essential for belief. Closed minds do not inspire faith, courage and belief.

No more effort is required to aim high in life, to demand abundance and prosperity, than is required to accept misery and poverty.

EVERY FAILURE BRINGS WITH IT THE SEED OF AN EQUIVALENT SUCCESS.

  1. Pingback: Mission Possible – Challenge Accepted! | A Blog that's Hers By Design

  2. Pingback: Desire – Part 1 | A Blog that's Hers By Design

Leave a Reply

