design
design

What is your USP Unique Special Proposition that sets you apart from the crowd?

This is a really tough question and one I’ve been milling on for a few days which is why I haven’t blogged recently and why I’m woefully behind in the 30 Day Blog Challenge. However, you can’t rush important stuff like this and there are questions and topics on this challenge that I’m not quite ready for in these early stages of ‘my journey’ however, it’s good to think about them even if I’m not 100% clear yet and still creating this baby as I go. Much of what I post here will no doubt change as I discover more about myself and as my ideas evolve. So for now, I’m answering the questions posed in the blog challenge from where I am right now and where I want to be. Even if I don’t have a plan of how I’m going to get to all the places where I want to be! I have faith that the plans will come in due time.

So here are some questions I have asked myself which Natalie suggested in order to develop my USP:

What are you better at than anyone else?

Well no one does Debra Rock-Evans quite like me! That’s a loaded question, am I supposed to try and convince you that I’m better at something than someone else who is excellent at it? Most people wouldn’t even believe the answer to this question because most people know that there will always be people better and worse than them in a certain skill set or area. If I was better than everyone else at something I’d be pretty famous I’m sure!

However, what I am good at and better than many people I deal with is seeing a situation for what it really is and making a pretty darn accurate estimation of it in a short space of time. I’m great at observing, listening, taking it all in, reading other subtle signs and also going with my gut instinct or intuition. I use all my senses where possible to form a holistic view of a situation and this is what helps me cut to the very core of it and then work outwards from there.

What do you enjoy doing the most?

I love the process of creating (and I hate it when that process is blocked!). Be it painting or drawing, designing graphics, singing (especially scatting or ad libbing), writing from the heart, creating a beautiful meal from scratch or planting and nurturing a garden. I also love travelling, being in nature (especially hiking in native NZ bush and up and over mountains) and having deep philisophical discussions with people I meet.

I also love dreaming. I’ve always lived with a part of me in the future. I’m always visually dreaming of things I’d love to do, places I’d love to visit, people I want around me, possessions I’d love to have and the way I’d always like to feel.

What do (or could) you provide that no one else is providing?

With branding, graphic and web design I think there is a lot of focus on keeping up with design trends, fitting in with what’s fashionable and current, doing what works for everyone else, ranking well and increasing leads, having a website that ‘catches all’ and is ‘easy to use’ while still being ‘pretty’ etc.

I want to help my customers to BE DIFFERENT and be TRUE TO THEMSELVES. I want to spend more time working out who they are, what a makes them tick, what’s unique about them and whats unique about what they do. I want to dig down to a level where I help them find their ‘essence’ and then plaster that essence, their ‘true identity’ all over their branding and marketing. Where my customers are open to it, I want to use more alternative techniques to find out more about them and what their life purpose is. Above all, I look for authenticity in all people and won’t settle till I’ve found it.

I don’t think most marketers and designers do this. I think most try to put you in a box or a few boxes. They use standard and traditional methods to gain that information. Their focus is on ROI and sometimes the real needs of their customer are sacrificed along the way. I want to find new methods to employ, ones that no one else uses and ones that really work. They will speak for themselves if they do. I want to demystify all the marketing mumbo jumbo and branding bollocks.

Surprisingly, a lot of people don’t take the time to dig deep into themselves and discover their special nuggets of wisdom, unique talents and special gifts that they can draw on and identify with in a very conscious way. There is commonly a focus on personality type and the nature of their business/career or job which people define themselves as. There is so much more to people than that!

What annoys people the most about your industry or blog area?

The industry of marketing, design and web development and web design is mind boggling to many people to be honest. Not everyone is naturally creative or has a good eye for design. Not everyone has the first clue about how to design or develop a website that will get them noticed.

There are many people claiming to be pros and there are many scam merchants. If you don’t want to try and wade through all the information overload and suss it out yourself, then you’re forced to hire a pro and struggle with working out how much you should pay for their services and getting them to understand your vision. Often you come away feeling there could have been more depth in terms of strategy behind the design.

Many people hire a branding/marketing pro, then a designer, then a web designer as they’re often not wrapped up in one person.

What is remarkable about you?

Shux I don’t know! Probably these three things:

  1. that I have a big heart and a huge capacity to love others.
  2. that I remain optimistic for humanity and the state of the world despite everything that’s going on or has happened in the past.
  3. that I have faith in myself and the universe.
Do you have an unusual combination of elements?

I’m a natural teacher/coach. I have an eye for good design and an ability to create good design. I’m excellent at building trust and strong working relationships with customers’.

Do you have a big personality?

I’m loud and confident, cheeky and easy going. I’m not a ‘larger than life’ personality but I can hold my own. I have enough of a personality to serve me well in business.

Now she says “write your USP statement. Take action. You can look to this as the reminder of what makes you distinctive and unique”.

So here goes, my USP is…

I am unique and different because I provide a holistic approach to defining my customers brand and design by digging deep to find their essence which no one else in my field provides. No one else can or will provide this because their approach is text book and traditional, customers are put in ‘boxes’ and consideration is not taken to understand the deeper facets of the person behind the business/profession that customers will want to connect with.

~ Debra Rock-Evans

Wow, this was a tough assignment! It’s been a good one though because this is what I want to help people find for themselves too.

My definition of a USP would be ‘Unique Soul Purpose’ – now THAT is an interesting challenge! But not for this post, that’s a whole other journey again.

What do you think sets you apart from the crowd? What is truly unique about you that no one else has? What is it that you could offer the world if you just looked inside and stopped listening to the voice that says ‘you’re not good enough’?

Have a try, allow yourself the indulgence of focussing on why you’re so great! And then write it down and put it somewhere that you’ll read it and remind yourself that you are unique and special.

  1. Zanda

    Thought provoking stuff! I shall have to ponder and probe my inner self for these answers.
    Perhaps in a future blog you will share what your theme tune would be?
    For me this would be one of them…
    “Always look on the bright side of life”

    Keep it up lovey!

    Reply

    1. Debra Rock-Evans

      Yes indeed! I look forward to seeing what you come up with babe. That’s a great idea about the ‘theme tune’ or ‘theme song’ of our lives! I will look at doing that in a future post! x

      Reply

  2. Suzy

    What awesome reading this is. I am now a follower of your BLOG and will be logging in often:):) ‘Love the Learning’!!!! and ‘Notice what you Notice’!!!! When something happens to discombobulate focus on what you are feeling at the time and use the knowledge gained. I loved watching you as the ‘Natural Teacher’ at the skating on Sunday evening….Unconditional, Selfless LOVE! Thank you both for all you do. xxx

    Reply

    1. Debra Rock-Evans

      Wise words indeed Suzy! And it was your feedback to me about being a ‘natural teacher’ that I took on-board and claimed! Thanks so much for your warm, loving and oh so valuable support! You always give me such a lift! xxx

      Reply

Leave a Reply

