New Year is a time of resolutions and goal setting. This year I also spent time reflecting on the year that passed which is an equally if not more important exercise to take time to do and I highly recommend it. Think about how many of us take the negative energies of last year, the failed accomplishments and the guilt that comes with them through into the new year if we don’t effectively come to peace with them? Surely that’s not a great way to start off a new year.

This year I’ve acknowledged and accepted what I didn’t do in 2013 and I’ve celebrated what I did achieve. I’ve reflected on how I felt about these achievements and I’ve dug deeper to understand the reasons why I didn’t achieve some of the others. The results were really interesting and simply by being aware of them I can let them go and start the new year off in a more positive frame of mind.

I’ve also set my goals for 2014 and in doing so have begun to feel overwhelmed by what’s ahead, felt unfocussed and stressed about it before I’ve even started because I’ve not been realistic about what I can actually do in the time that I have.

Do you ever feel like that?

I have alot of BIG goals on my plate for this year, what do I do first? Can I do it all? Am I even being realistic?

My main goals being launching my business or writing a children’s book. I should probably mention that I’m also pregnant! So I’m expecting a newborn around mid year which will impact my ability to achieve anything much! You think? Ah yup!

I’ve tried asking myself these questions to help prioritise which of my main goals I should focus on:

What makes you think you need to do it all this year?

This was tough. I resolved that my main reasons for feeling I need to do it all this year are:

  1. I’ve spent so much time and money planning and preparing for the branding business and I don’t want this  effort to go to waste.
  2. I don’t want to give up before I’ve really given it a chance and taken real action towards it. I’ve done this once before with another business venture idea.
  3. Not wanting to feel a sense of failure especially when I’ve publicly told people this is what I want/plan to do.
What does your heart say if you were to choose between the business and the book?

My heart says to do the book. This idea has been with me for over 3 years now and the book concept is very closely aligned with my desire that I stated in my post Desire – Part 1:

I HAVE A BURNING DESIRE TO TEACH PEOPLE ABOUT THE POWER OF THOUGHT AND HOW THIS IMPACTS OUR COLLECTIVE CONSCIOUSNESS AND TO DISCOVER MY LIFE’S PURPOSE, IN TURN HELPING OTHERS TO DISCOVER THEIRS.

The branding and web design business is more closely aligned with my my desire to earn my own money, with my skills and with my desire to help people capture their true purpose and essence in their business and personal branding. However I still don’t have all the methods defined for helping them do this for me to feel comfortable with taking action. I feel like I need more time to work through this and get really clear about what I’m offering and how what I can do is different and valuable for my customers compared to what my competition offers.

The book however, I can start. I can take action this year. I can write it, illustrate it and self-publish it. If it fails, it won’t hurt anybody but I will know that I have done it and will be able to move on.

What would fill you with more joy and pride when someone asked you what you do? 

I would take great pride in saying that I’m a mother and an author of children’s books. That my books teach children about the power of their own thoughts and their ability to dream and manifest what they want for the world and for humanity.

Of course I would like to make money from this but I don’t expect this to happen straight away. This is simply a message I feel compelled to get out to the world’s youth, a message of hope, of our individual and collective power to manifest change that is for the good and benefit of all. If I can rally the support of parents along the way and encourage the naysayers and non-believers to at least be open-minded to this possibility and support it, then all the better. I would feel that I’ve gone some way towards fulfilling my purpose in life and my burning desire.

Napoleon Hill says that those of us who are focussed on acquiring riches should take encouragement from the fact that the world needs new ideas, it is always demanding more, new inventions, new ways of doing things, new ways of thinking, new methods of teaching, of marketing, of running businesses, new technologies, new medical and scientific breakthroughs, new answers to new problems.

He believes that with all this demand for new and better things, there is one quality which we must possess to win, and that is

DEFINITENESS OF PURPOSE, the knowledge of what one wants, and a burning DESIRE to possess it.”

We who desire to accumulate riches, should remember the real leaders of the world always have been men who harnessed, and put into practical use, the intangible, unseen forces of unborn opportunity, and have converted those forces, [or impulses of thought], into sky-scrapers, cities, factories, airplanes, automobiles, and every form of convenience that makes life more pleasant.

Tolerance, and an open mind are practical necessities of the dreamer of today.

I’m a dreamer, I always have been. My mother has often told me so, yet somewhere along the line it took on  a negative connotation for me. Through Napoleon Hill’s Think and Grow Rich book I’ve come to realise that there is nothing wrong with a dreamer who TAKES ACTION to make their dreams a reality.

If the thing you wish to do is right, and you believe in it, go ahead and do it! Put your dream across, and never mind what “they” say if you meet with temporary defeat, for “they,” perhaps, do not know that EVERY FAILURE BRINGS WITH IT THE SEED OF AN EQUIVALENT SUCCESS.

I’m not giving up on my desire to have a business that provides branding and web design services to women in business or wanting a personal brand online, I’m simply delaying it in order to realise my dream of writing a children’s book with a powerful message and a powerful prayer at the end of it. My dream is for that prayer to manifest into a reality because I believe the innocent children who read it will collectively dream and manifest it into being.

The oak sleeps in the acorn. The bird waits in the egg, and in the highest vision of the soul, a waking angel stirs. DREAMS ARE THE SEEDLINGS OF REALITY.”

What is your dream, your burning desire? Is 2014 going to be the year that you take action and make that dream a reality?

The world is filled with an abundance of OPPORTUNITY which the dreamers of the past never knew.

A BURNING DESIRE TO BE, AND TO DO is the starting point from which the dreamer must take off. Dreams are not born of indifference, laziness, or lack of ambition.

Dream your dreams and make a plan to action them! You are doing the world an injustice if you don’t see them through and show the world how much they are needed!

As we wrap up on the topic of Desire, I want to remind you that the action you need to take as stated in this chapter and as mentioned in my post Desire – Part 2 is ‘The Desire Instruction’.

Here it is again below. Be sure to complete this for yourself and read this aloud twice a day, once before you get up and last thing at night before you go to sleep.

The Desire Instruction

(Affirmations) Say them aloud twice a day.

1. The exact amount of money I desire is _________ dollars per ________.

2. In return I will give/do _____________________________.

3. I will receive this money by this date: _____/_____/_____

4. The plan I will implement immediately to achieve this is: ______________________________________.

5. I can see and feel myself receiving this money and achieving my goals.

We will refine this affirmation more when we go through Chapter 4 Auto-Suggestion the Medium for Influencing the Subconscious Mind, but for the meantime, it is important to be clear about your burning desire and put it in a statement which commits it to action.

Go ahead and do it for yourself, after all, what have you got to lose?

All achievements, all earned riches, have their beginning in an idea.”
– Napoleon Hill

Leave a Reply

